Southbank Slam

Image

As promised, here is my (first to be shared online) spoken word piece.

To hear my poem click here

I took this photo this autumn, of my friend Sam looking over the undercroft as we walked over the bridge.  There are a lot of dead skate boards on the foot of that bridge, you can see them when you look down, it’s kind of like a skateboard graveyard. Sam could see how the different boards had been worn down or broken, so he could tell what the skater had been doing with it, he could see like “oh that skater was doing loads of those moves” or “they kept trying that trick”. I thought that was pretty cool.

This space is really important because it’s where people like Sam and plenty of other fantastic people can move, can challenge themselves, enjoy something, express themselves, learn from eachother, and create something really special. It all grew organically out of young people making something beautiful out of a wasted abandoned space. And it doesn’t cost any of them anything, which is why it’s such an important thing to protect. I could go on and on about how I feel about access to arts, it’s really important to me. So the (widely opposed!) plans to sell it off are pretty heartbreaking.

Anyway, check out the poem, (and check out the campaign!)

I performed an earlier version of this at a festival in Depford a little while back, and got a good response, so I’m feeling brave enough to share it with you now, (I have changed it a bit since, though). Anyway, let me know what you think guys  🙂

More spoken word to follow soon!

Peace

About hereisthemoment

I write. Sometimes I don't.

2 comments

  1. Hey Emily,

    I just came across your work through the LLSB group and I love your poem Southbank Slam. I’m currently in the process of putting together a skate zine and I’d love to include Southbank Slam. I’d love to have you on board so if you’re interested or would like to know please don’t hesitate to drop me a line at bengore@live.com.

    All the best,
    Ben

  2. Thanks Ben! Exciting stuff, I’d love to be involved, I’ll email you now
    Emily

Leave a Reply

