The Slut of Ole’ Miss

Derek

Casey James. Everyone knew she put out on a first date. I’d just broken up with Hannah, we’d been dating since junior high. I needed an easy lay. Me and Hannah even came to Ole’ Miss together, we were in for the long haul. We weren’t broken up for good or anything, she’d just said she had seen me going for her friend, which definitely didn’t happen. Why would I go for her right in front of Hannah? That’s just dumb. I’m not top of any of my classes but I know what I know about women. And I love Hannah anyway. That’s why I only took out Casey James, Slut of Ole’ Miss, once Hannah and I weren’t together. I’ll have kids with Hannah some day. She’ll be my wife and we’ll become our parents and get old together. It’s not as bad as it sounds, I’m glad it will be Hannah, but for now, I was heading out the door to pick up Casey. I was subtle as I left, everyone at Beta Theta Pi knows Hannah is my girlfriend, not that it mattered too much, most of my fraternity had slept with Casey already. I got into my old mustang off to get a girl.

Samuel

When I met Casey I didn’t know her reputation. I just thought she was sweet is all. I started talking to her in the canteen one day; I’d seen her in my econ lecture so I had an opening. She seemed real nice and I took her out for a drink. Before you know it she’s all over me and we’ve gotta get out of that bar before she gets us arrested for public indecency. I had no idea she’d jump me on the first date. It was kind of intimidating at first, but kinda sexy. Anyway, we went to hers. Once we’re in the door, she calmed right down. I didn’t sleep with her that night though; I would have felt like I was taking advantage. We just went to sleep, I held her and we slept. I never called her.

Red

Casey came up to me after the game. I didn’t really give too big a damn straight off. The Rebels had just lost 7;2 and I wanted to get to the locker room, I needed to take a shower. I was in a mood something terrible. Then again, she was all over me and ready to distract me, so we went back to mine and showered there instead.

Damien

I’d heard about Casey James. Everyone knew she was ‘easy’ but I just wondered who’d hurt her? Who’d made her feel like trash she had to go round with guys that didn’t give a shit about her? She was always on the arm of some Rebel or the face of some drunk guy at a frat party. Always smiling, never looked happy. I can’t explain any better than that, it will sound like an exaggeration if I tell you she probably did that nearly every night. I might not be mister popular but I go out a lot and I always see her like that. Without fail. She’s quite pretty I guess, but I just think of her as filthy. I don’t mean it against her, it’s up to her what she does, I just wouldn’t want to be one of her guys. And what would be the point? It could just as easily be anyone else, and they are welcome to the slut of Ole’ Miss.

Scott

No one is actually mean about Casey James. Not the guys anyway. We all joke about her being the slut of Ole’ Miss but there’s nothing mean about it, and we’ve all had her. Probably will again before we graduate. There’s only about 20,000 students, she’s bound to go back through a few of them. I’ll probably have another go. I was too wasted last time to even remember, but she’s easy enough, and I’m a Rebel anyway, girls dig jocks.

Janie

Doesn’t she mind everyone knowing? Doesn’t it bother he that everyone calls her ‘the slut of Ole’ Miss’? It would bother me.  Maybe her dad didn’t love her enough as a child or some shit like that, but it’s pathetic.

Florence

Good for her. Why does it matter if everyone else does things differently? She’s getting what she wants isn’t she, what’s so pitiful about that?

I know most of the girls hate her, but I never really think about her. Her sex life is none of my business. I’ve never really spoken to her that much, and she seems nice enough. I’m not going to go bad mouthing her around Mississippi, my mom taught me better than that. I think people just like to have someone to talk about. She’s a folk character, that’s all. No one knows her, probably. I don’t even know which girls she even hangs out with. I’ve never really seen her alone so I hadn’t even thought about that really.

Hannah

Derek. God I hate him sometimes! It’s not even his fault, she’s just a skank. And we were broken up. It was me who said we were. Jesus! Which makes it a little bit my fault too. How unfair is that? But he didn’t do it to hurt me, I know Derek so well, he was just thinking with his dick. But she should have known better. I bet she didn’t ask any questions. She sleeps with all the guys. I bet she was just glad there was a new jock for her to try this term. It’s fucking disgusting. I’m not having sex with Derek till he goes to the clinic first, either. He said I’m only doing it to punish him, but that’s only a little bit true. He can go fuck his hand till then.

 

Casey James

Are you joking? I do not have sex three hundred and sixty times a year. That would be incredible for anyone. Anyone can think that if they want to, it kind of helps me out a bit I guess. I mean sure, we go home together, me and some guy. Nearly every night, usually a different one. I mean, I didn’t even think about getting a reputation at first. But I let the guy tell it how he will. It didn’t bother me. And it’s too far gone to start caring about it now.

I got to Mississippi and I was a hell of a way from that little bit at the top of Idaho, the only place I’d ever known. I brought a guy to my dorm the first night and he just held me for forever. We had to get up to do freshman initiation stuff every day that week. When we got up, and he was putting his pants on, and I was making coffee, he said something to me. He hadn’t said good morning, or hello or anything. He just said, “do you mind not telling anyone about this?” I mean, what was I going to tell them? That my first night away from home I took a freshman back to my dorm and he held me all night? Hardly a story is it?

It turns out that wasn’t what he meant anyway. He meant, don’t correct people when they assume we slept together. I remember thinking he was not a great guy, when he said that, but I know guys pretty well now, and I get it. And no one ever said anything to me about it. But the same thing happened a couple more times in freshman term; I’d go home with a guy and we’d not have sex. Every time, the guy assumed it was only him that I hadn’t slept with. When you’re drunk, and fumbling with a stranger, you’re not going to enter into a debate about all your insecurities, or ask the girl what’s wrong with you. So every guy let every other guy assume that they were another guy I’d slept with, they didn’t want to be the only one who couldn’t get it up/ didn’t have the moves/ looked better in the bar than in the bedroom. The truth is, I’ve only ever been with Joel. Joel never came to Ole’ Miss.

For years we were going to leave Idaho together, get out of there and move south, as far as we could get. He could have had a scholarship with the Rebels. Then his dad got sick. He was going to stay up there for another year, and join me later. I didn’t even want to go without him. And I was terrible at pretending to be mad at him. And his dad and mine were friends since forever anyway, I couldn’t get my head round Jerry getting so sick. I knew a year wouldn’t be enough. I knew Joel would have to stay longer than that.

He was going to marry me, he wanted to marry me. I couldn’t. It was everything we were running away from, and at the same time it was everything I’d ever wanted. But I wasn’t ready to become our parents and never leave. So I left him behind. On the plane down here I cried the whole way. He was coming out here in a week and I was going to make myself last. I could do a week. We hadn’t had a week apart since we were twelve and he went to stay with his aunt in Wyoming, but I would do it, I could do it. The first night here, someone that looked just like him when I was drunk, well he wanted to walk me home. That week, Joel was killed driving his dad’s tractor into a ditch in the fall when the north road turns to sludge.

I hadn’t made any close friends yet and all I really needed was to be held tightly like the world couldn’t be taken away from me. Everything was gone, and I was too far away to feel it. I couldn’t go home after that. So I’m still here, my grades are good. People like me, I haven’t got any great friends, but people like me. Sometimes girls even want to be nice, so it’s not terrible. And there’s nothing I can do about Joel. Maybe once I graduate I’ll deal with it properly. Maybe I won’t. It’s not like I’ll be the slut of Ole’ Miss forever. I know that’s what people call me.

I have to decide what next. I graduate in the spring and all I’ve got is a vague idea of applying for a journalism internship somewhere I can be anonymous. New York?  So I’ll let the boys walk me home. I’ll let the girls say what they will. I’ll wretch when I see a tractor on the road. I’ll force myself to close my eyes at night, and I’ll graduate in the spring, with honours.

About hereisthemoment

I write. Sometimes I don't.

Leave a Reply

